2018 Spring Gala Committee Brings Great Energy!

Foundations in Education’s 2018 Spring Gala Committee brings great energy and a strong commitment to the cause. Committee members planned and strategized the elements of an extraordinary event at their recent meeting on January 10th at the Catholic Center. Co-chairs of this year’s Gala are the dynamic brother-sister team of Tom Cingari and Mary Donovan. Mary recognizes her role as an opportunity to do as we are all called as Catholics, to “bring the children to Him.”

Foundations in Education’s annual Gala is a chance to celebrate and support Catholic education in the Diocese of Bridgeport. Building off the awesome momentum of last year, this year’s Gala will take place on Thursday, April 19, 2018 from 6 pm-9:30 pm at The Woodway Country Club in Darien.

Together with The Most Reverend Frank J. Caggiano, Foundations in Education will honor three individuals who have left indelible marks on Catholic education: Catholic school advocate and tireless volunteer Roger J. Fox; retired Kolbe Cathedral Principal with a tenure of 43 years at Kolbe, Jo-Anne Jakab; and Foundations in Education board member, proud Catholic school supporter and great corporate citizen, Frontier Communications CEO Dan McCarthy. The Gala will bring together business, education, political and charitable leaders throughout Fairfield County in celebration and support of Catholic education and promises to be an inspirational evening.

Proceeds will benefit Foundations in Education’s Bishop’s Scholarship Fund, a major source of tuition assistance for children of our families in need, and may also support leading-edge, innovative classroom initiatives in our Catholic schools and leadership development opportunities for our exceptional teachers and staff. For sponsorship information or to purchase tickets, please contact Karen Sportini at or by calling 203.416.1671

Photo Caption: Members of the Gala Committee pictured left to right: front row, Co-chair Mary Donovan and Gloria Garvey; on the stairs, left to right, Foundations in Education Executive Director Holly Doherty-Lemoine, Associate Director for Development Karen Sportini, Xandy Duffy and Barbara Ripp. Committee members missing from photo include: Co-chair Tom Cingari, Janet Catenacci, Margaret Cobb, Elise Major, Jody Myers and Jennifer St. Victor de Pinho.